is a non-profit based in Quebec City devoted to the production and distribution of artistic initiatives. An intersectional and intergenerational approach is at the heart of CONTOURS, as well as contemporary poetry’s multiple linguistic identities and explorations.

The mission of              is to participate in discussions about the future of creating the contemporary literary arts community; to build bridges between digital elements and innovative technologies with poetry; to foster and support experimental staging; to connect poetry to all kinds of artistic disciplines; to contribute to both the documenting of the history of poetry as well as the discovery of contemporary poetry; to map out, document artistic practices within the field in direct participation of the artists themselves.


the co-directors

vanessa bell


Vanessa Bell is the co-director of CONTOURS, critic at Le Sabord magazine, member of the editorial board at Lettres québécoises, president of the Table des lettres de Québec et Chaudière-Appalaches, as well as a frequent contributor to Radio-Canada’s literary programming.


Her literary and artistic practice has been showcased across Quebec, Europe, and in Scandinavia. In addition to her book De rivières (2019, La Peuplade), she also co-directed l’Anthologie de la poésie actuelle des femmes au Québec 2000-2020 (2021, Éditions remue-ménage) and won the Félix-Antoine-Savard prize (2021).

juliette bernatchez


Juliette Bernatchez is an up and coming author and cultural worker.


Since 2018, she has become a highly sought after contributor to many artistic and cultural institutions in Quebec, notably as the co-director of le Mois de la poésie. She also served as a researcher, project leader, and social media manager for Rhizome littérature vivante, and has contributed to Quebec’s Council for the arts, at l’Institut canadien de Québec, to Première Ovation and to RAPAIL. She also co-founded and co-directs CONTOURS.

board of directors


véronique langlais ‧ president

ariane lehoux traversy ‧ treasurer

catherine lefrançois ‧ secretary

tom lebrun ‧ administrator

graphic design ‧ criterium

photo credit · justine latour